Edmund Adler

Edmund Josef Adler was born on 15 October 1876 in the Viennese suburb of St. Ulrich (7th district). His father Heinrich came from Bohemia and worked as a so-called “rainbow maker”. In 1874, Heinrich married Magdalena Wiesinger, after his first wife Maria died of tuberculosis. Edmund Josef grew up in the Viennese suburbs, where they moved several times. The boy visited primary school and was likely to have received a first artistic education thereafter. Adler may have worked as a lithographer with Franz Theodor Würbel.

In 1894 Edmund Adler enrolled for the first time at the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts before he was exempted two years later as a full-time student. Adler's teacher was Christian Griepenkerl, who was one of the most important representatives of the Ringstraße-Period. From Adler's time at the academy, some paintings have been preserved, as well as countless drawing studies. In the final year 1903 Edmund Adler received a one-year travel scholarship, which enabled him to stay in Italy. Rome as the "eternal city" may have left a lasting impression on Adler.

Already before his departure to Italy, Adler had married Rosa Pankratz in Vienna. Both had first met each other in Hof am Leithaberge, where the Adler family spent their summer holidays. After returning from Rome, Adler and his wife settled in Mannersdorf. Edmund Adler had early discovered the local population as models for his works. The young couple moved into their new house and studio on the Sommereinerstraße. Their daughter Rosa was born in 1903, followed by son Gustav ("Gustl") in 1904 and the youngest child Gilbert in 1908. The family fortune did not last long, Gustl died with less than three years of age. And in 1924 Adler’s wife Rosa passed away at the age of 46.

At the beginning of World War I, Edmund Adler was called up to Regiment No. 4, and in December 1914 he was caught as war prisoner by the Russians. He first came to a camp near Berezovka on the Caspian Sea and later he was transferred to Nikolsk Ussuriisk in Eastern Siberia. The dreary years were used by Adler for countless sketches and studies in which he captured camp life. Not far from the camp was a village of Korean inhabitants, who aroused Adler’s artistic interest. Together with other artists, Adler was able to make a successful exhibition in Vladivostok, before returning to Austria in 1920.

Back in Mannersdorf Adler had to cope not only with the early death of his wife, but also had to provide for the family income. Thus he tried to sell his paintings to Viennese galleries. His son Gilbert was also artistically talented, however he suffered from psychological problems. So Gilbert came to a "clinic", where he was badly threaten under the Nazi-regime. Edmund Adler's last support was his daughter Rosa, who devoted her life to the father and tried to increase their income with her legendary "piano school”.

The most artistically successful time of Adler were the 1940s and 1950s. The painter focused on portraits and genre pictures with children, his models were many children of Mannersdorf. Adler's works were not only popular in Austria, but also found their way to the USA, where the well-known board game manufacturer MB produced a puzzle with a motif of Adler (“The yellow bird”). Numerous exhibitions enriched the artist's life evening. Edmund Adler died on May 10, 1965 in his house in Mannersdorf.



Edmund-Adler-Galerie

Geöffnet ganzjährig

Sonntag 14:00-16:00 Uhr

 

Geschlossen:

Ostersonntag

Heiliger Abend

 

Schloss Mannersdorf

Hauptstraße 48

                                                                                  2452 Mannersdorf/Lgb.

                                                                                  kontakt@edmund-adler-galerie.at

Edmund Adler

Edmund Josef Adler wurde am 15. Oktober 1876 in der Wiener Vorstadt St. Ulrich (7. Bezirk) geboren. Sein Vater Heinrich stammte aus Kunemil (dt. Kunemühle) in Böhmen und war als Regenschirmmacher tätig. Edmund wuchs in der Vorstadt auf, seine Familie wohnte zunächst im Haus „Zum weißen Fasan“ in der Neustiftgasse 67, ehe die Adlers mehrmals umzogen. Der Bub besuchte die Bürgerschule und dürfte danach eine erste künstlerische Ausbildung erhalten haben. In diesen frühen Jahren war Adler in Wien auch als Lithograph tätig.

1894 inskribierte Edmund Adler erstmals als Gasthörer an der Wiener Akademie der bildenden Künste, ehe er zwei Jahre später als ordentlicher Student aufgenommen wurde. Adlers Lehrer wurde der Historien- und Porträtmaler Christian Griepenkerl. Dieser war einer der bedeutendsten Vertreter der Ringstraßenzeit, seine stilistischen Auffassungen wurden aber auch von manchen als antiquiert angesehen. Im Abschlussjahr an der Akademie erhielt Adler als Auszeichnung ein Reisestipendium, das ihm 1904 einen einjährigen Aufenthalt in Rom ermöglichte.

Bereits vor seiner Abreise nach Italien hatte der Maler Rosa Pankratz in der Breitenfelder Pfarrkirche das Ja-Wort gegeben. Beide hatten sich in Hof am Leithaberge kennengelernt, wo die Familien Adler und Pankratz die Sommerfrische verbrachten. Um 1910 ließ sich Adler mit seiner Frau in Mannersdorf nieder, das junge Paar hatte offensichtlich Gefallen an der ländlichen Umgebung des Leithagebirges gefunden. Noch im Jahr 1903 kam Tochter Rosa zur Welt, 1905 folgte Sohn Gustav („Gustl“) und 1908 das jüngste Kind Gilbert. Das Familienglück währte aber nicht lange, der kleine Gustl verstarb mit 2 Jahren und auch Mutter Rosa war sehr kränklich. Als auch sie 1924 mit kaum 46 Jahren verschied, blieben Edmund Adler nur noch seine beiden Kinder Rosa und Gilbert als Stütze.

Zu Beginn des Ersten Weltkrieges war Edmund Adler zum Deutschmeisterregiment Nr. 4 einberufen worden und geriet im Dezember 1914 in russische Kriegsgefangenschaft. Er kam in mehrere Gefangenenlager, das letzte befand sich in Nikolsk Ussurijsk in Ostsibirien. Die tristen Jahre in Russland nutzte Adler für unzählige Skizzen und Studien, in denen er das Leben im Lager und ringsum festhielt. Gemeinsam mit anderen Künstlern konnte Adler eine erfolgreiche Ausstellung in Wladiwostok bestreiten, ehe er 1920 nach Österreich zurückkehren durfte.

In Mannersdorf hatte Adler nicht nur den frühen Tod seiner Gattin zu bewältigen, sondern musste auch für den Familienunterhalt sorgen. Er hielt sich mit Auftragswerken über Wasser, die er auch unter dem Pseudonym Edmund A. Rode signierte. Seine Tochter Rosa, die ihr Leben dem Vater widmete, trug mit ihrer legendären Klavierschule zum Lebensunterhalt bei.

Die wohl künstlerisch erfolgreichste Zeit Adlers umfasste die 1940er- und 1950er-Jahre. Der Maler fokussierte sich dabei stark auf Porträts und Genrebilder mit Kindern. Als seine Modelle fungierten nicht nur Gilbert und Rosa, sondern auch die Nachbarskinder aus Mannersdorf. Adlers Werke fanden ihren Weg in die ganze Welt und sind bis heute bei Sammlern sehr beliebt. Edmund Adler verstarb am 10. Mai 1965 in seinem Mannersdorfer Wohn- und Atelierhaus.



Edmund-Adler-Galerie

Geöffnet ganzjährig

Sonntag 14:00-16:00 Uhr

 

Geschlossen:

Ostersonntag

Heiliger Abend

 

Schloss Mannersdorf

Hauptstraße 48

                                                                                  2452 Mannersdorf/Lgb.

                                                                                  kontakt@edmund-adler-galerie.at